Zero Waste

Quick Links

The Zero Waste Program promotes the development of a zero waste economy. In a zero waste economy, product development conserves natural resources, product design leads to reuse, repair, recycling or composting, and all discards become assets that benefit the people, the planet and the local economy. We support this ideal through general education about recycling, waste assessment of homes and businesses, dumpsite clean-ups, zero waste events, and the implementation of the Athens Hocking Zero Waste Action Plan.

Rural Action also coordinates the Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative (AOZWI) in partnership with the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University. The AOZWI is funded by the Sugar Bush Foundation, a supporting organization of the Ohio University Foundation.

emailfacebook

Current Projects

recycle roll-off (for web)

Our Services

NMF sorting

Pledge Participants

Publications & Resources

ZWAPN

OUR SPONSORS

Sugarbush logo       AmeriCorps Logo       serve-4c        Voinovich Logo_green        Print

 

OUR STAFF

Zero Waste Program

Erin Sykes, Program Director, erin@ruralaction.org
Andrea Reany,  Program Manager, andrea@ruralaction.org
Luke Black, Media and Volunteer Involvement for Zero Waste Event Productions, luke@ruralaction.org
Tyler Bonner, Sales and Outreach Coordinator for Zero Waste Event Productions, tyler@ruralaction.org

Heather Fuston, AmeriCorps Education and Outreach volunteer heather@ruralaction.org
Caitlin Garrity, AmeriCorps Business Pledge Program Volunteer, caitlin@ruralaction.org
Shannon Pratt-Harrington, AmeriCorps Events and Dumpsite Cleanup Volunteer, shannonp@ruralaction.org

If you would like to intern or volunteer with the Zero Waste Program team, check out our opportunities here.

Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University Partners

Scott Miller, Director of Energy and Environmental Programs, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University
Elissa Welch, Project Manager, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs, Ohio University