Staff & Board Directory

Administrative/Development & Communications

Michelle Decker
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 19
michelle@ruralaction.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Candi Withem
Human Resources/AmeriCorps Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
cswithem@yahoo.com
Click to read Candi’s bio

Susi Rankis
Media and Communications Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 11
susi@ruralaction.org
Click to read Susi’s bio

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
arwithem@yahoo.com
Click here to read Allan’s bio

Financial

Linda Thornton
Chief Financial Officer
Ph. 740-797-2783
lindathornton@usa.net
Click here to read Linda’s bio

Riley Rowland
Financial Assistant and Membership Coordinator
Ph. 740-797-2783
riley@ruralaction.org

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Sustainable Agriculture Coordinator
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 27
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Bob Fedyski
Local/Institutional Foods Specialist
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 25
bob@ruralaction.org
Click to read Bob’s bio

Sustainable Forestry

Tanner Filyaw
Forestry Staff
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 24
tanner@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Sunday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
michelle@sundaycreek.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Director of Watershed Resources, Monday Creek Restoration Project
Ph. 740-394-2047
water@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
tim@ruralaction.org

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Huff Run Watershed & Mud Run Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
marissa@ruralaction.org
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
joe@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Kyle O’Keefe
Zero Waste Program Coordinator
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 15
kyle@ruralaction.org
Click to read Kyle’s bio

Erin Sykes
Zero Waste Program Administrator
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext 28
erin@ruralaction.org
Click to read Erin’s bio

Rural Action Americorps Members

Luke Black | Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Tyler Bonner | Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Taylor Bowling | Environmental Education
Kelly Caris | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Darcy Higgins | Environmental Education
Doug Krysiak | Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership
Lucy Pierce | Mud Run Watershed
Megan Liggett | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Andrea Reany | Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Richard Lutz | Buckeye Trails Association
Kaylee Moser | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Tim Prange | Environmental Education
Michelle Robinson | Ohio Hill Country
Rand Romas | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Shannon Stewart | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Barry Unger | Buckeye Trails Association

Rural Action Board of Directors

Amy Grove (6/5/10 – 6/5/16)
Board Chair
Ohio State University Extension, Program Assistant 4-H, Community Development & AgNR
grove.68@osu.edu
Committee: Executive (Chair)

John Kotowski (11/17/08 – 11/17- 14)
Past Chair
Associate Vice President for Facilities, Ohio University, Retired
jkkotowski@gmail.com
Committee: Executive, Finance, Donor Development

Gary Goosman (6/25/11-6/25/16)
Vice Chair
Senior Programs Director, Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development
ggoosman@coadinc.org
Committee: Executive, Donor Development (Chair)

Susan Loughridge (5/8/09 – 5/8/15)
Board Treasurer
Grants Information Manager, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, Ohio University, Retired
loughrid@ohio.edu
Committee: Executive, Finance (Chair)

Mitchell E. Farley (6/8/13-6/8/18)
Environmental Specialist, Farleigh’s Hold Consulting, LLC
mfarley@nelsonvilletv.com
Committee: Impact

Randy Leite (6/8/13-6/8/18)
Dean, College of Health Sciences and Professions, Ohio University
leite@ohio.edu
Committee: Impact

Jane Woodrow (Completion Date 6/8/18)
Psychologist
jzwoodrow@hotmail.com
Committee: Finance

Chad Bortle (6/14/14 – 6/2017)
Vice President, SJB Management
Email: chadbortle@sjbmanagementinc.com

Sally Linder (6/14/14-6/2017)
Co-Owner and Real Estate Agent, Larry Conrath Realty
Email: slinder@larryconrathrealty.com

Nancy Crist (6/14/14-6/2017)
Human Resources Vice President, Rocky Brands Inc
Email: nancycrist@nancycrist.com

Tom Johnson (6/14/14-6/2017)
Executive Director, Community Foundation for Perry County
Email: tom.johnson1367@gmail.com

Kent Spellman (6/14/14-6/2017)
Executive Director, West Virginia Hub
Email: k.spellman@wvhub.org

Rural Action Donor Committee

Gary Goosman
Tom McGuire
Sue Boyd
Faith Knutson
Carol Kuhre
Mary Anne Flournoy