Staff & Board Directory

Administrative/Development & Communications

Michelle Decker
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 19
michelle@ruralaction.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Eric Smith
Chief Program Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
eric@ruralaction.org
Click to read Eric’s bio

Candi Withem
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
cswithem@yahoo.com
Click to read Candi’s bio

Shannon Stewart
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Assistant
Ph. 740-767-4938
shannon@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shannon’s bio

Susi Acord
Media and Communications Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 11
susi@ruralaction.org
Click to read Susi’s bio

Penny Morgan
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 10
Administrative Assistant
penny@ruralaction.org
Click to read Penny’s bio

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
arwithem@yahoo.com
Click here to read Allan’s bio

Financial

Linda Thornton
Chief Financial Officer
Ph. 740-797-2783
lindathornton@usa.net
Click here to read Linda’s bio

Deb Moreland
Financial and Administrative Assistant and HR Manager
Ph. 740-797-2783
deb@ruralaction.org

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 21
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Katelyn Eilbeck
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
katelyn@ruralaction.org
Click to read Katelyn’s Bio

Sustainable Forestry

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 27
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Katelyn Eilbeck
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
katelyn@ruralaction.org
Click to read Katelyn’s Bio

Tanner Filyaw
Non-Timber Forest Products Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
tanner@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Sunday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
michelle@sundaycreek.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Monday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-394-2047
water@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
tim@ruralaction.org

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
marissa@ruralaction.org
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Director
Ph. 740-767-2225
joe@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Sarah Fisher
Environmental Education Program Manager
Ph. 740-767-2225
sarah@ruralaction.org
Click to read Sarah’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Erin Sykes
Zero Waste Program Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 28
erin@ruralaction.org
Click to read Erin’s bio

Andrea Reany
Zero Waste Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
andrea@ruralaction.org
Click to read Andrea’s bio

Tyler Bonner
Sales and Outreach Coordinator, Zero Waste Event Productions
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
tyler@ruralaction.org
Tyler’s Bio – Coming Soon!

Rural Action Americorps Members

Shannon Pratt-Harrington | Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Caitlin Garrity | Appalachia Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Heather Fuston | Appalachian Ohio Zero Waste Initiative
Sarah Fisher | Environmental Education
Becca Farley| Environmental Education
Sam Romeo | Environmental Education
Jacob Mulder | Environmental Education
Tito Aquino | Huff Run/Mud Run
Sarah Homan | Huff Run/Mud Run
Caitlyn Park | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Miranda Hayes | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Steve Glade | Somerset/Perry Co. Soil & Water
Sam Staschiak | Somerset/Perry Co. Soil & Water
Dustin Gross | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Steve Maluge | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Shayna Roberts |Morgan County Convention and Visitors Bureau
Lana Milbern | Tuscarawas County Commissioners
Jeff Wunderly | Little Cities of Black Diamonds
Matt Castells | Wayne National Forest
Erin Banaag | Wayne National Forest
Ryan Freibertshauser | Muskingum Watershed Conservancy District
Jennifer Johnson | Ohio Stream Restore Corps Capacity Builder
Homer Elliot | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Alicia Caton | Ohio Hill Country Heritage Area
Karam Sheban |Rural Action Sustainable Forestry

AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteers placed with Rural Action

Meredith Hamsher | Sustainable Agriculture
Savannah Sullivan |  Administrative
Cheyenne Festemaker | Administrative

ComCorps AmeriCorps Members Placed with Rural Action

Caitie Sheban  | Sustainable Agriculture

Rural Action Board of Directors

Gary Goosman 
Board Chair
Senior Programs Director, Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development
ggoosman@coadinc.org
Committee: Executive, Donor Development (Chair)

Mitchell E. Farley
Board Secretary
Environmental Specialist, Farleigh’s Hold Consulting, LLC
mfarley@nelsonvilletv.com
Committee: Impact

Randy Leite
Dean, College of Health Sciences and Professions, Ohio University
leite@ohio.edu
Committee: Impact

Jane Woodrow
Psychologist
jzwoodrow@hotmail.com
Committee: Finance

Chad Bortle 
Vice President, SJB Management
chadbortle@sjbmanagementinc.com

Sally Linder 
Co-Owner and Real Estate Agent, Larry Conrath Realty
slinder@larryconrathrealty.com

Mark Snider 
Founder & Principal at Snider, Fuller, and Stroh
mark@sniderfullerstroh.com

Max Mark 
CEO & Board Chair, Ed Map
mmark@edmap.com

Rick Hindman
Assistant Executive Director, Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
rhindman@buckeyehills.org

Richard Wetzel
Mayor of Chesterhill, Ohio
wetzel@ohio.edu

Carol Davey-Sayre
daveyc2011@gmail.com

Dave Simon
Planning Analyst, Ohio University
simon@ohio.edu

 

Rural Action Committees

Rural Action Governance Committee
John Kotowski
Jane Woodrow

Rural Action Finance Committee
Susan Loughridge
John Kotowski
Randy Leite
Mark Snider – Volunteer

Rural Action Impact Committee
Randy Leite
Mitch Farley

Rural Action Building and Grounds Committee
Susan Loughridge – Chair
Sally Linder
John Kotowski
Mitch Farley

Rural Action Donor Committee
Gary Goosman
John Kotowski
Jane Woodrow
Faith Knutson – Member Volunteer
Carol Kuhre – Member Volunteer
Tom McGuire – Member Volunteer
Kathy Gilmore – Member Volunteer
Sue Boyd – Member Volunteer