Staff, Board, and National Service Members

Administrative/Development & Communications

Debbie Phillips
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 33
debbie@ruralaction.org
Click to read Debbie’s bio

Brian Vadakin
Chief Program Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 13
brianv@ruralaction.org
Click to read Brian’s bio

Susi Acord
Media and Communications Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 12
susi@ruralaction.org
Click to read Susi’s bio

Bob Benz
Storyteller
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 12
bob@ruralaction.org
Click to reach Bob’s bio

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
arwithem@yahoo.com
Click here to read Allan’s bio

Financial

Rick Fligor
Finance Director
Ph. 740-797-2783
rick@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Deb Moreland
Financial and Administrative Assistant and HR Manager
Ph. 740-797-2783
deb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Deb’s bio

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 21
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Jessica Dotson
Chesterhill Produce Auction Site Assistant
Ph. 740-677-4047
Ph. 740-554-7927 (Seasonal on Auction Days)
jessicad@ruralaction.org
Click to read Jessica’s bio

Ohio Stream Restore Corps AmeriCorps Program

Shannon Stewart
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
shannon@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shannon’s bio

Meredith Hamsher
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Manager
Ph.740-767-4938
meredithh@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Sustainable Energy Solutions

Sarah Conley-Ballew
Sustainable Energy Solutions Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 11
sarah@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Sustainable Forestry

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 27
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Tanner Filyaw
Non-Timber Forest Products Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
tanner@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Sunday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
michelle@sundaycreek.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Monday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-394-2047
water@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
tim@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Tim’s bio

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
marissa@ruralaction.org
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Shana Angel
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Assistant
Ph. 330.859.1050
shana@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shana’s bio

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Director
Ph. 740-767-2225
joe@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Darcy Higgins
Environmental Education Program Manager
Ph. 740-767-2225
darcy@ruralaction.org
Click to read Darcy’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Ed Newman
Zero Waste Program Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
ed@ruralaction.org
Click to read Ed’s bio

Anthony Cangemi
Zero Waste Program Manager
740-677-4047 Ext. 28
anthony@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Entrepreneurial Communities and Social Enterprise

Paul Patton
Social Enterprise Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 23
paul@ruralaction.org
Click to read Paul’s bio

Dan Vorisek
Entrepreneurial Communities Coach
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 30
dan@ruralaction.org
Click to read Dan’s bio

Ellie Dudding
Entrepreneurial Communities Assistant Coach
Ph. 740-767-4938
ellie@ruralaction.org
Click to read Ellie’s bio

Rural Action AmeriCorps Members

Megan Almeida | Zero Waste Event Productions
Carrie Gibbons | Zero Waste Pledge Program
Brett Smith | Environmental Education
Vanessa Hesser | Environmental Education
Madison Donohue | Environmental Education
Nate Good | Environmental Education
Kylee Nichols | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Kelly Love | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Ashley Smith | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Scot Gardner | Wayne National Forest Volunteer
Brock Bolen | Wayne National Forest Water
Dani Jacobs | Wayne National Forest Educator
Lydia Beardsley | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Grant Joy | Ohio Hill Country Heritage Area
Eugene Hancock | Rural Action Sustainable Forestry
Molly Sowash | Rural Action Sustainable Agriculture
Charles Gordon | Buckeye Trail Association
George Blankenhorn | Buckeye Trail Association
Miranda Cain | Camp Oty’Okwa
Jenna Balazs | Hocking Soil and Water Conservation District
Meghan Ellis | Dairy Barn
Clara Thornberry | Stuart’s Opera House
Bailey Grenert | United Plant Savers
Brenna Dobos | United Plant Savers
Aaron Ambrosio | The Wilds
Breanna Boudinot | Licking Soil and Water Conservation District
Rosemary Jeter | Entrepreneurial Communities
Taisa Dzindo | Middle Tuscarawas Watershed
Grace Hanoian | Middle Tuscarawas Watershed
Ricky Vandegrift | Watershed Engagement

AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteers placed with Rural Action

Lena Osborne| Sustainable Energy Solutions
Elise Westenbarger | Farm to School
Levi Brown | Community Resources
Kyle Driscoll | Program Support
Emma Shultz |Hocking Hills Inspire Shelter

Rural Action Board of Directors

Mark Snider
Board Chair
Founder & Principal at Snider, Fuller, and Stroh
mark@sniderfullerstroh.com
Click to read Mark’s bio

Rick Hindman
Vice Chair
Assistant Executive Director, Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
rhindman@buckeyehills.org
Click to read Rick’s bio

Susan Loughridge
Treasurer
loughrid@ohio.edu 

Chad Bortle
Vice President, SJB Management
chadbortle@sjbmanagementinc.com

David Simon
Planning analyst, Office of Planning & Space Management, Ohio University
simond1044@gmail.com
Click to read Dave’s bio

Richard Wetzel
Mayor of Chesterhill, Ohio
wetzel@ohio.edu
Click to read Richard’s bio

Kay Tousley
kaytousley@gmail.com

T. Chris Wilson
tcw1943eng@gmail.com

Don Cooley 
Cotner, Cooley, Clark and Sharp, LLC
dcooley@3cscpa.com
Click to read Chad’s bio

Perry Varnadoe
nvarn@suddenlink.net

David Descutner
descutne@ohio.edu

Heidi Wilhelm
athensheidi@gmail.com

Mary Ann Borch
Redwing828@gmail.com

Carol Davey-Sayre
cdavey@theoec.org

Shoshanna Brooker
brookerlaw@sbcglobal.net

Rural Action Committees

Rural Action Governance Committee
Jane Woodrow – Committee Chair
David Descutner
Kay Tousley
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Finance Committee
Susan Loughridge – Chair and Board Treasurer
Don Cooley
Kay Tousley
Mark Snider
Rick Hindman
Perry Varnadoe
Rick Fligor

Rural Action Impact Committee
Randy Leite
Mitch Farley
Rick Hindman
Kay Tousley

Rural Action Building and Grounds Committee
Susan Loughridge – Committee Chair
John Kotowski – Member Volunteer
Mitch Farley
Robin Kinney – Member Volunteer
David Simon

Rural Action Donor Development Committee
David Simon – Committee Chair
John Kotowski – Co-chair
Jane Woodrow
Chad Bortle
Mark Snider
Carol Kuhre – Member Volunteer
Sue Boyd – Member Volunteer
Mary Anne Reeves – Member Volunteer
Cita Strauss – Member Volunteer
Debbie Robertson – Member Volunteer
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Policy Committee
Randy Leite – Committee Chair
David Descutner
T. Chris Wilson
Gary Goosman – Member Volunteer
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Social Enterprise Committee
Mark Snider – Committee Chair
T. Chris Wilson
Rick Hindman
Chad Bortle
Jon Sowash – Member Volunteer
Richard Wetzel
Brian Vadakin – Social Enterprise Coordinator