Staff, Board, and National Service Members

Administrative/Development & Communications

Michelle Decker
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 19
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Eric Smith
Chief Program Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
Click to read Eric’s bio

Debbie Phillips
Development Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 13
Click to read Debbie’s bio

Candi Withem
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
Click to read Candi’s bio

Shannon Stewart
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Assistant
Ph. 740-767-4938
Click to read Shannon’s bio

Susi Acord
Media and Communications Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 11
Click to read Susi’s bio

Penny Morgan
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 10
Administrative Assistant
Click to read Penny’s bio

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
Click here to read Allan’s bio


Linda Thornton
Chief Financial Officer
Ph. 740-797-2783
Click here to read Linda’s bio

Deb Moreland
Financial and Administrative Assistant and HR Manager
Ph. 740-797-2783
Click to read Deb’s bio

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 21
Click to read Tom’s bio

Katelyn Eilbeck
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
Click to read Katelyn’s Bio

Sustainable Forestry

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 27
Click to read Tom’s bio

Katelyn Eilbeck
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
Click to read Katelyn’s Bio

Tanner Filyaw
Non-Timber Forest Products Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Sunday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Monday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-394-2047
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
Click to read Tim’s bio

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Director
Ph. 740-767-2225
Click to read Joe’s bio

Sarah Fisher
Environmental Education Program Manager
Ph. 740-767-2225
Click to read Sarah’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Erin Sykes
Zero Waste Program Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 28
Click to read Erin’s bio

Andrea Reany
Zero Waste Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
Click to read Andrea’s bio

Tyler Bonner
Sales and Outreach Coordinator, Zero Waste Event Productions
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
Click to read Tyler’s bio

Entrepreneurial Communities and Social Enterprise

Brian Vadakin
Social Enterprise Coordinator
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 32
Click to read Brian’s bio

Dan Vorisek
Entrepreneurial Communities Coach
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 30
Click to read Dan’s bio

Rural Action Americorps Members

Shannon Pratt-Harrington | Zero Waste Program
Caitlin Garrity | Zero Waste Program
Laura Diaco | Zero Waste Program
Sarah Fisher | Environmental Education
Becca Farley | Environmental Education
Sam Romeo | Environmental Education
Jacob Mulder | Environmental Education
Andy Nolen | Huff Run/Mud Run
Sarah Homan | Huff Run/Mud Run
Caitlyn Park | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Miranda Hayes | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Sam Staschiak | Somerset/Perry Co. Soil & Water
Kara Roberts | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Chad Gatt | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Shayna Roberts | Morgan County Convention and Visitors Bureau
Gabriel Riggle | Tuscarawas County Commissioners
Jeff Wunderly | Little Cities of Black Diamonds
Lana Milbern | Wayne National Forest
Brandt Taylor | Wayne National Forest
Esther Shin | Muskingum Watershed Conservancy District
Tito Aquino | Ohio Stream Restore Corps Capacity Builder
Meredith Price-Mullins | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Jeremy Maple | Ohio Hill Country Heritage Area
Karam Sheban | Rural Action Sustainable Forestry
Sally Sugar | Buckeye Trail Association
Dave Banchich | Camp Oty’Okwa

AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteers placed with Rural Action

Caitie Sheban  | Sustainable Agriculture
Savannah Sullivan |  Administrative
Cheyenne Festemaker | Administrative

COMCorps AmeriCorps Members Placed with Rural Action

Meredith Hamsher | Sustainable Agriculture

Rural Action Board of Directors

Gary Goosman 
Board Chair
Senior Programs Director, Corporation for Ohio Appalachian Development
Committee: Executive, Donor Development (Chair)
Click to read Gary’s bio

Mitchell E. Farley
Board Secretary
Environmental Specialist, Farleigh’s Hold Consulting, LLC
Committee: Impact
Click to read Mitchell’s bio

Randy Leite
Dean, College of Health Sciences and Professions, Ohio University
Committee: Impact
Click to read Randy’s bio

Jane Woodrow
Committee: Finance
Click to read Jane’s bio

Chad Bortle 
Vice President, SJB Management
Click to read Chad’s bio

Sally Linder 
Co-Owner and Real Estate Agent, LCR Realty
Click to read Sally’s bio

Mark Snider 
Founder & Principal at Snider, Fuller, and Stroh
Click to read Mark’s bio

Max Mark 
CEO & Board Chair, Ed Map
Click to read Max’s bio

Rick Hindman
Assistant Executive Director, Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
Click to read Rick’s bio

Richard Wetzel
Mayor of Chesterhill, Ohio
Click to read Richard’s bio

Dave Simon
Independent Consultant
Click to read Dave’s bio


Rural Action Committees

Rural Action Governance Committee
Jane Woodrow

Rural Action Finance Committee
Susan Loughridge
Randy Leite
Max Mark
Mark Snider – Volunteer

Rural Action Impact Committee
Randy Leite
Mitch Farley
Rick Hindman

Rural Action Building and Grounds Committee
Susan Loughridge – Chair
Sally Linder
John Kotowski
Mitch Farley
Robin Kinney

Rural Action Donor Committee
Gary Goosman
John Kotowski
Jane Woodrow
Cita Strauss
Mary Ann Reeves
Carol Kuhre – Member Volunteer
Sue Boyd – Member Volunteer