Staff, Board, and National Service Members

Administrative/Development & Communications

Debbie Phillips
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 13
debbie@ruralaction.org
Click to read Debbie’s bio

Eric Smith
Chief Program Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
eric@ruralaction.org
Click to read Eric’s bio

Susi Acord
Media and Communications Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 12
susi@ruralaction.org
Click to read Susi’s bio

Shannon Stewart
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
shannon@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shannon’s bio

Anthony Cangemi
Executive Assistant
Ph.740-677-4047 ext.10
anthony@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
arwithem@yahoo.com
Click here to read Allan’s bio

Financial

Linda Thornton
Chief Financial Officer
Ph. 740-797-2783
lindathornton@usa.net
Click here to read Linda’s bio

Deb Moreland
Financial and Administrative Assistant and HR Manager
Ph. 740-797-2783
deb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Deb’s bio

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 21
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org

Sustainable Energy Solutions

Sarah Conley-Ballew
Sustainable Energy Solutions Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 11
sarah@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Sustainable Forestry

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 27
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org

Tanner Filyaw
Non-Timber Forest Products Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
tanner@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Sunday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-767-2225
michelle@sundaycreek.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Monday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-394-2047
water@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
tim@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Tim’s bio

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
marissa@ruralaction.org
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Gabriel Riggle
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Program Assistant
Ph. 330.859.1050
gabriel@ruralaction.org

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Director
Ph. 740-767-2225
joe@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Erin Sykes
Zero Waste Program Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 28
erin@ruralaction.org
Click to read Erin’s bio

Andrea Reany
Zero Waste Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
andrea@ruralaction.org
Click to read Andrea’s bio

Entrepreneurial Communities and Social Enterprise

Brian Vadakin
Social Enterprise Coordinator
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 32
brianv@ruralaction.org
Click to read Brian’s bio

Dan Vorisek
Entrepreneurial Communities Coach
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 30
dan@ruralaction.org
Click to read Dan’s bio

Rural Action Americorps Members

Meg Almeida | Zero Waste Program
Carrie Gibbons | Zero Waste Program
Nick Cruise | Environmental Education
Brett Smith | Environmental Education
Laura Diaco | Environmental Education
Sally Sugar | Environmental Education
Kylee Nichols | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Annika Gurrola | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Nikki Salas | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Daniel Clepper | Little Cities of Black Diamonds
Jeremy Maple | Wayne National Forest
Dylan Bean | Wayne National Forest
Vanessa Hesser | Wayne National Forest
Theo Peck-Suzuki | Ohio Stream Restore Corps Capacity Builder
Bryan Chamberlin | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Brian Harnetty | Ohio Hill Country Heritage Area
Cierra Bailey | Rural Action Sustainable Forestry
Luke Welch | Rural Action Sustainable Agriculture
Ryan Brown | Buckeye Trail Association
George Blankenhorn | Buckeye Trail Association
Mollie Rabiner | Camp Oty’Okwa
Jenna Balasz | Hocking Soil and Water Conservation District
Janet Holladay | ReUse Makerspace
Meghan Ellis | Dairy Barn
Chloe Musick | Stuart’s Opera House
Bailey Grenert | United Plant Savers
Taylor Snelick | The Wilds
Destiny Langdon | Captina Conservancy
Aaron Ambrosio | Licking Soil and Water Conservation District
Claire Donley | Perry Soil and Water Conservation District
Samantha Miller | Entrepreneurial Communities
Brooke Sanderson | Middle Tuscarawas Watershed
Selina Nadeau | Social Enterprise

AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteers placed with Rural Action

Brian Cristi | Sustainable Agriculture
Rudi Beutner | Sustainable Agriculture
Levi Brown | Capacity Builder
Carol Kuhre | Capacity Builder

COMCorps AmeriCorps Members Placed with Rural Action

Elise Westenbarger | Sustainable Agriculture

Rural Action Board of Directors

Randy Leite
Board Chair
Dean, College of Health Sciences and Professions, Ohio University
leite@ohio.edu 
Click to read Randy’s bio

Mark Snider
Vice Chair
Founder & Principal at Snider, Fuller, and Stroh
mark@sniderfullerstroh.com
Click to read Mark’s bio

Rick Hindman
Treasurer
Assistant Executive Director, Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
rhindman@buckeyehills.org
Click to read Rick’s bio

Jane Woodrow
Secretary
Psychologist
jzwoodrow@hotmail.com
Click to read Jane’s bio

Mitchell E. Farley
Environmental Specialist, Farleigh’s Hold Consulting, LLC
mfarley@nelsonvilletv.com
Click to read Mitchell’s bio

Chad Bortle 
Vice President, SJB Management
chadbortle@sjbmanagementinc.com
Click to read Chad’s bio

Richard Wetzel
Mayor of Chesterhill, Ohio
wetzel@ohio.edu
Click to read Richard’s bio

Dave Simon
Independent Consultant
simond1044@gmail.com
Click to read Dave’s bio

Kay Tousley
kaytousley@gmail.com
Kay’s bio is coming soon!

T. Chris Wilson
tcw1943eng@gmail.com
Chris’s bio is coming soon!

Rural Action Committees

Rural Action Governance Committee
Jane Woodrow – Committee Chair
David Descutner
Kay Tousley
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Finance Committee
Susan Loughridge – Chair and Board Treasurer
Don Cooley
Kay Tousley
Mark Snider
Rick Hindman
Perry Varnadoe
Linda Thornton – CFO

Rural Action Impact Committee
Randy Leite
Mitch Farley
Rick Hindman
Kay Tousley
Eric Smith – CPO

Rural Action Building and Grounds Committee
Susan Loughridge – Committee Chair
John Kotowski – Member Volunteer
Mitch Farley
Robin Kinney – Member Volunteer
Dave Simon
Linda Thornton – CFO

Rural Action Donor Development Committee
Dave Simon – Committee Chair
John Kotowski – Co-chair
Jane Woodrow
Chad Bortle
Mark Snider
Carol Kuhre – Member Volunteer
Sue Boyd – Member Volunteer
Mary Anne Reeves – Member Volunteer
Cita Strauss – Member Volunteer
Debbie Robertson – Member Volunteer
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Policy Committee
Randy Leite – Committee Chair
David Descutner
T. Chris Wilson
Gary Goosman – Member Volunteer
Debbie Phillips – CEO

Rural Action Social Enterprise Committee
Max Mark – Committee Chair
T. Chris Wilson
Rick Hindman
Chad Bortle
Jon Sowash – Member Volunteer
Richard Wetzel
Brian Vadakin – Social Enterprise Coordinator