Staff, Board, and National Service Members

Administrative/Development & Communications

Debbie Phillips
Chief Executive Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 33
debbie@ruralaction.org
Click to read Debbie’s bio

Brian Vadakin
Chief Program Officer
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 13
brianv@ruralaction.org
Click to read Brian’s bio

Susi Acord
Media and Communications Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 12
susi@ruralaction.org
Click to read Susi’s bio

Bob Benz
Storyteller
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 12
bob@ruralaction.org
Click to reach Bob’s bio

Allan Withem
Computer Specialist
Ph. 740-767-4938
arwithem@yahoo.com
Click here to read Allan’s bio

Financial

Rick Fligor
Finance Director
Ph. 740-797-2783
rick@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Deb Moreland
Financial and Administrative Assistant and HR Manager
Ph. 740-797-2783
deb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Deb’s bio

Sustainable Agriculture

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 21
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Jessica Dotson
Chesterhill Produce Auction Site Assistant
Ph. 740-677-4047
Ph. 740-554-7927 (Seasonal on Auction Days)
jessicad@ruralaction.org
Click to read Jessica’s bio

Michelle Ajamian
Appalachian Staple Foods Collaborative Network Manager
Ph. 740-590-1501
michellea@ruralaction.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Ohio Stream Restore Corps AmeriCorps Program

Shannon Stewart
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Director
Ph. 740-767-4938
shannon@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shannon’s bio

Meredith Hamsher
Ohio Stream Restore Corps Program Manager
Ph.740-767-4938
meredithh@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Sustainable Energy Solutions

Sarah Conley-Ballew
Sustainable Energy Solutions Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 11
sarah@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Sustainable Forestry

Tom Redfern
Director of Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 27
tomr@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tom’s bio

Joe Barbaree
Sustainable Agriculture & Forestry Program Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047
joeb@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Tanner Filyaw
Non-Timber Forest Products Manager
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 24
tanner@ruralaction.org
Click to read Tanner’s bio

Watershed Restoration

Sunday Creek Watershed Group

Michelle Shively
Director of Project Development, True Pigments, LLC
Ph. 740-767-2225
michelle@sundaycreek.org
Click to read Michelle’s bio

Monday Creek Restoration Project

Nathan Schlater
Monday Creek Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 740-394-2047
water@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Nathan’s bio

Tim Ferrell
Monday Creek Restoration Project Water Quality Specialist
Ph. 740-394-2047
tim@mondaycreek.org
Click to read Tim’s bio

Huff Run Watershed Restoration Partnership

Marissa Lautzenheiser
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Coordinator
Ph. 330.859.1050
marissa@ruralaction.org
Click to read Marissa’s bio

Shana Angel
Middle Tuscarawas Watershed Assistant
Ph. 330.859.1050
shana@ruralaction.org
Click to read Shana’s bio

Environmental Education

Joe Brehm
Environmental Education Program Director
Ph. 740-767-2225
joe@ruralaction.org
Click to read Joe’s bio

Darcy Higgins
Environmental Education Program Manager
Ph. 740-767-2225
darcy@ruralaction.org
Click to read Darcy’s bio

Zero Waste Program

Ed Newman
Zero Waste Program Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 15
ed@ruralaction.org
Click to read Ed’s bio

Anthony Cangemi
Zero Waste Program Manager
740-677-4047 Ext. 28
anthony@ruralaction.org
Bio Coming Soon!

Entrepreneurial Communities and Social Enterprise

Paul Patton
Social Enterprise Director
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 23
paul@ruralaction.org
Click to read Paul’s bio

Dan Vorisek
Entrepreneurial Communities Coach
Ph. 740-677-4047 ext. 30
dan@ruralaction.org
Click to read Dan’s bio

Ellie Dudding
Entrepreneurial Communities Assistant Coach
Ph. 740-767-4938
ellie@ruralaction.org
Click to read Ellie’s bio

Rural Action AmeriCorps Members

Megan Almeida | Zero Waste Event Productions
Carrie Gibbons | Zero Waste Pledge Program
Brett Smith | Environmental Education
Vanessa Hesser | Environmental Education
Madison Donohue | Environmental Education
Nate Good | Environmental Education
Kylee Nichols | Monday Creek Restoration Project
Kelly Love | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Ashley Smith | Raccoon Creek Partnership
Scot Gardner | Wayne National Forest Volunteer
Brock Bolen | Wayne National Forest Water
Dani Jacobs | Wayne National Forest Educator
Lydia Beardsley | Sunday Creek Watershed Group
Grant Joy | Ohio Hill Country Heritage Area
Eugene Hancock | Rural Action Sustainable Forestry
Molly Sowash | Rural Action Sustainable Agriculture
Charles Gordon | Buckeye Trail Association
George Blankenhorn | Buckeye Trail Association
Miranda Cain | Camp Oty’Okwa
Jenna Balazs | Hocking Soil and Water Conservation District
Meghan Ellis | Dairy Barn
Clara Thornberry | Stuart’s Opera House
Bailey Grenert | United Plant Savers
Brenna Dobos | United Plant Savers
Aaron Ambrosio | The Wilds
Breanna Boudinot | Licking Soil and Water Conservation District
Rosemary Jeter | Entrepreneurial Communities
Taisa Dzindo | Middle Tuscarawas Watershed
Grace Hanoian | Middle Tuscarawas Watershed
Ricky Vandegrift | Watershed Engagement

AmeriCorps VISTA Volunteers placed with Rural Action

Jonathan Flinn| Sustainable Energy Solutions
Elise Westenbarger | Farm to School
Levi Brown | Community Resources
Kyle Driscoll | Program Support
Emma Shultz |Hocking Hills Inspire Shelter

Rural Action Board of Directors

Rick Hindman
Board Chair
Assistant Executive Director, Buckeye Hills-Hocking Valley Regional Development District
rhindman@buckeyehills.org
Click to read Rick’s bio

David Descutner
Vice Chair
descutne@ohio.edu

Kay Tousley
Secretary
ktousley@gmail.com

Susan Loughridge
Treasurer
loughrid@ohio.edu 

Mark Snider
Founder & Principal at Snider, Fuller, and Stroh
mark@sniderfullerstroh.com
Click to read Mark’s bio

Chad Bortle
Vice President, SJB Management
chadbortle@sjbmanagementinc.com

Richard Wetzel
Mayor of Chesterhill, Ohio
wetzel@ohio.edu
Click to read Richard’s bio

T. Chris Wilson
tcw1943eng@gmail.com

Don Cooley 
Cotner, Cooley, Clark and Sharp, LLC
dcooley@3cscpa.com
Click to read Chad’s bio

Perry Varnadoe
nvarn@suddenlink.net

Heidi Wilhelm
athensheidi@gmail.com

Mary Ann Borch
Redwing828@gmail.com

Carol Davey-Sayre
cdavey@theoec.org

Shoshanna Brooker
brookerlaw@sbcglobal.net

Rural Action Committees

Rural Action Governance Committee
Kay Tousley – Committee Chair
David Descutner
Heidi Wilhelm
Jane Woodrow – Member Volunteer

Rural Action Finance Committee
Susan Loughridge – Chair
Don Cooley
Kay Tousley
Mark Snider
Rick Hindman
Perry Varnadoe

Rural Action Impact Committee
Shoshanna Brooker
Randy Leite – Member Volunteer
Mitch Farley – Member Volunteer
Kay Tousley

Rural Action Building and Grounds Committee
Susan Loughridge – Committee Chair
Mary Ann Borch
John Kotowski – Member Volunteer
Mitch Farley – Member Volunteer
Shoshanna Brooker

Rural Action Donor Development Committee
Carol Davey – Committee Chair
Jane Woodrow
Chad Bortle
Mark Snider
Carol Kuhre – Member Volunteer
Sue Boyd – Member Volunteer
John Kotowski – Member Volunteer
Mary Anne Reeves – Member Volunteer
Cita Strauss – Member Volunteer
Debbie Robertson – Member Volunteer

Rural Action Policy Committee
T. Chris Wilson
Randy Leite – Member Volunteer
David Descutner
Gary Goosman – Member Volunteer

Rural Action Social Enterprise Committee
T. Chris Wilson
Rick Hindman
Chad Bortle
Jon Sowash – Member Volunteer
Richard Wetzel
Mary Ann Borch
Max Mark – Member Volunteer